Face masking on a budget: review of Beauty Formulas’ face masks

My face is prone to break outs, it is also red and sensitive on my cheeks, yet oily on my forehead. So what I look for in masks is something that doesn’t irritate but does irradiate unwanted oil. I discovered the beauty formula range in my student days and I have continued to use their products since! They are really affordable yet I’ve found that many of their products give good results for the price. When you want to target different problems with different masks it can become expensive! But with all of the Beauty Formulas masks coming in at around £1 each, it’s ok to treat yourself! I have always been a bargain lover and I find it much more satisfying when you get a great result from a budget brand! (Any other bargain queens out there?) Here is what I thought of 3 Beauty Formulas face masks that help mange my problematic skin.



Beauty Formulas Clay Mask with Activated Charcoal

 

Charcoalclaymaskfotor
Beauty Formulas Clay Mask with Activated Charcoal

I often use this face mask at the end of the week when have a relaxing bath. You leave it on for 10-15 minutes and once it has set you rinse it off. Products with charcoal have become all the rage at the moment (I even saw a programme on tv the other day about people drinking charcoal coffee… sorry what?) I love this mask as it does a great job at reducing oil. I do also use this mask before using a charcoal peel off mask. When use the peel off masks in combination with using this mask before hand, it seems to draw out more junk onto the peel off mask.

If you want to read more about how I combine the Clay Mask with Activated Charcoal with as a part of a spot stopping routine click here

 

 

Beauty Formulas Cool Moist 3 Minute Clay Mask

 

Cucumber Mask
Beauty Formulas Cool Moist 3 Minute Clay Mask

I love this mask! It’s also so easy to include in your routine as you only have to leave it on for 3 minutes before rinsing off. (You can leave it on longer if your skin is on the oiler side.) It smells and feels really nice, like a real treat! I often use this on my skin at night as a part of my evening skincare routine. I love how it calms and cools the redness I am prone to on my face. I find this mask really easy to apply, it is thick yet quite runny. I find the fact that it is a bit runner that some masks if I have used before much easier to apply by hand. The mixture comes out a mint green colour and is lovely and gentle, a winner for my sensitive skin! When I wake up the next day after using this mask my skin looks less red and is so smooth and hydrated! The only downside I found to this is that I didn’t discover it sooner! Simply amazing for the price!

 

 

Beauty Formulas Rejuvenating Glorious Mud Mask

 

Mud Mask
Beauty Formulas Rejuvenating Glorious Mud Mask

Now this mask I found a bit… meh. It didn’t wow me and I didn’t notice much affect on my skin. It is very light on the skin and isn’t very noticeable on the skin compared to the colours of the other two masks- It just looks a bit like you have a bad tan on your face! It was easy to apply but I won’t be repurchasing this one. My skin did feel smoother after applying and it did get rid of excess oil. However it did leave my overall skin very dry and I did seem to breakout after using this. At the price I am not complaining, you win some you loose some. It did not live up to it’s rejuvenating promise on my skin.

 

 



In the UK you can pick up these products in stores like Bodycare and B&M. I hope this has been a helpful insight in to masking on a budget!

Love Lizzie xx

Leave a comment